The 40 hour work week

I came across this article today and thought it was pretty interesting: The Real Reason For The 40 Hour Work Week.

I totally agree with what the author when I work a 40 hour week:

“Suddenly I have a lot more money and a lot less time….The last thing I want to do when I get home from work is exercise. It’s also the last thing I want to do after dinner or before bed or as soon as I wake, and that’s really all the time I have on a weekday.”

I pretty much want to crawl into my bed and hibernate until the next morning after working for 8 hours and sitting in traffic 2 hours each day (1 hour going to work and 1 hour going home).   This is pretty much what I look like by the time I am home: bear

Since there is less free time during the day, I would spend money to “buy” convenience:

“Keeping free time scarce means people pay a lot more for convenience, gratification, and any other relief they can buy. It keeps them watching television, and its commercials. It keeps them unambitious outside of work.”

I have caught myself “buying” my convenience by buying: chopped up fruit and vegetables; buying premade dinners; and buying take out (if I am really bad).  I have lost the urge/ motivation to take the time to prepare a nice sit down dinner after work.

 

I always feel I “deserve” a treat or a gift to myself for all the hard work I put towards my career.

“We’ve been led into a culture that has been engineered to leave us tired, hungry for indulgence, willing to pay a lot for convenience and entertainment, and most importantly, vaguely dissatisfied with our lives so that we continue wanting things we don’t have. We buy so much because it always seems like something is still missing.”

I would end up buying or indulge myself with things that I don’t really “need”.  Then I would feel guilty for spending that money and end up putting more hours into work.   It is a never ending cycle.

Do you agree with what the author wrote?  

~ The Money Pincher ~

Leave a Reply

