My 2014 Spending Spree

Update:  Here is the what I have spent on each category since January 2014.  Though I was away from the blogosphere, I still kept up with tracking the money I spent.   I looked at my expenses the past couple of months and I was over spending instead of saving.

From January till now:

  1. I have only managed to save 4% of my income.   I also have 12% saved towards my Pension – the money I don’t get to see until I retire and it is automatically deducted from my paycheque.
  2. I have spent 13% of my income on clothes (stuff I don’t really need, I actually ran out of space in my closet and I went out to buy a Malm Dresser from Ikea)
  3. Due to my hectic schedule, I wasn’t able to pack lunch and dinner for the days where I have evening classes, so I end up eating out at least two nights a week = 11% of my income went to eating out at restaurants
  4. Transportation ate up 10% of my income.  This  includes both gas and parking.  Since my classes were in downtown at 5:30 (I work outside of downtown and I get off work at 5 pm), in order to make it to the class, I have to drive and park in downtown.

yearly expense

*                          *                       *

Perhaps I have been spending a ton of money on “things” I don’t really need to fill the void that was created when my dad suddenly passed away.    I totally agree that buying the things that I have been wanting for a long time did not make me any happier.  Instead, I remember I burst into tears once I got home after purchasing an item that I have been longing for.  I felt awful for spending the hard earned money my parents’ left behind for me.

Here is what I have bought during the times where I felt I had to “reward” myself for all the stress, work and unhappiness that I experienced:

1. Pandora Bracelet + 3 Charms = $294.00

I wanted to purchase a staple bracelet that I can wear with almost any outfit because I want to wear it everyday.  I have a staple necklace that I wore everyday for the past 7 years.  I was looking at a Tiffany bracelet, but ended up purchasing this since I can customize it the way I wanted.

2. Louis Vuitton Bag = $819.00

This was an item that I had been wanting to buy the past 2 years.  Two years ago, when I first saw it, it cost $690 to buy it.  I have been putting the money I earned from teaching piano aside to buy this bag.  Two years later, the cost of this bag went up to $780.00

 

3. Mackage Nuri Jacket (Black) = $307.99

I have always wanted a leather jacket and had been humming and hawing over it.  I ended up buying this on a whim because I can wear it as a blazer and a jacket.   I can also dress it up or down.

 

 

4. Tory Burch Mini-Robinson Bag: $302.00

I totally bought this on a whim.  I actually SHOULD NOT have bought this.  I bought this while I was studying for one of my final exams because I got really bored and started surfing the net (studying can be dangerous to my bank account).  The only reason why I bought this was because of the bright and cheerful color.

 

5. Two Pairs of Nine West Sandals / Shoes: $166.00

sandal

 

Just these 5 items cost me a total of  $1888.99.

Not to mention, I was in Vegas twice.  I am quite positive I spent over $400 on each trip on “stuff” that I don’t really need.  I was also in Hong Kong and Korea in April and spent at least $1000 on masks (from Korea), clothes and shoes that I haven’t even worn yet!  Luckily, no credit card debt, but I am spending ALL the money from each pay cheque!

I really need to reign in my spending until the end of 2014!  

~ The Money Pincher ~

4 thoughts on “My 2014 Spending Spree

  1. Pingback: What I did with my Inheritance so far | The Money Pincher

  2. Pingback: Did I Hit the 30 Financial Milestones You Need To Hit By Age 30? | The Money Pincher

  3. Pingback: The Power of Tracking Expenses | The Money Pincher

Leave a Reply

