The Versatile Blogger Award

Versatile-Blogger-Award

 

Yay! I got an award!   Thank you Brandy at Busted Budget for nominating me for this award! 🙂

Here are 7  NEW interesting things about me that I have not shared with you before:

#1: English is my second language.

I came to Canada when I was 7 years old.  I also speak fluently in Cantonese and Mandarin (more fluent in Cantonese than mandarin). I knew some basic “British” English like asking someone if I could borrow their rubber (erasers).  So if my writing doesn’t make sense….it could be my ESL English so please bear with me! 😀

#2: I still sleep with a stuffy. Don’t judge! 😀

I could easily sleep with a pillow or a bolster or even a maternity pillow, but I still like to sleep with a stuffy where I can wrap my arms around it.

#3: I have never went to a Sleepover Party.  I never EVER slept over at a friend’s house in elementary and high school. 

I had VERY VERY protective parents.  No sleepovers allowed at ANY friend’s house.  E.V.E.R.

#4: I gave almost penny I earned to my parents throughout University: summer jobs and part time jobs.

I would cash in my paychecks, keep $200 a month and give the rest to my parents.  In return, my parents paid off all my student loans that I have taken out for my education.  I lived at home with meals provided.

#5: I fought with my parents to move out.

At the age of 25, I rebelled against my parents and moved out of the house (yes, it was a late rebellious stage).   At the time, I still gave my parents almost everything I earned from my regular part-time job and I picked up more part-time jobs so I can start saving money.  I was not financially independent.   My parent’s didn’t want me to move out AT ALL.  They wanted me to live at home until I get married, but I wanted a taste of what it is like to be independent.

#6:  I love visiting McDonald’s and take pictures of their menus when I visit a different city / town.

I just find that McDonalds have different items at all over the world!  I love the black seasme soy drink they have in Hong Kong.  I love the spam and egg with rice as the Big Breakfast in Hawaii.  Nom Nom Nom.

#7:  When I travel to Hong Kong, I will book a 5-star hotel to AVOID seeing any cockroaches.   

Yes, I am TERRIFIED of roaches and if I see them in my hotel room, I will NOT be able sleep and will be keeping an eagle eye out for any roaches.  Shudders

I am also terrified of Spiders… UGGHHH…

The 7 Bloggers I am going to nominate ARE: 

  1. The Asian Pear
  2. Joradann @ My Alternate Life
  3. Tawcan @ Tawcan
  4. Autumn @ The Barefoot Budgeter 
  5. Michelle @ Budget Bloggess 
  6. Cait @ Blonde on a Budget
  7. Jessica @ Mo Money Mo House

Any interesting new fun facts you want to share?

11 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Congrats. And thank you. 😀
    Hmmm. 7 Facts eh?

    1- My first sleepover wasn’t until I was 15 or 16 years old. And I was uncomfortable. I missed my own bed.
    2- The first big budget I bought was a stereo that costed $285 including tax.
    3- The Asian Pear blog is not my first blog.
    4- The Asian Pear is currently not my only active blog.
    5- I used to own a pager.
    6- I purchased my first smartphone only 2.5 years ago.
    7- I used to work as a cashier at a supermarket. Consequently, I still remember random strings of numbers for produce and serial bars for soda (as it was easier to memorize & type the serial bar in than to move it out of the cart).

    Like

  2. Are there a lot of roaches in Hong Kong? That is disturbing…..I hate roaches. In the south, we have giant flying roaches called “Palmetto Bugs.” Sounds cute enough, right? They are awful and at least one a year gets into the house after the first big summer storm.

    Thanks for the nomination!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award and Everything You Never Wanted to Know - The Barefoot Budgeter

  4. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award and 7 Secret Things About Me - Mo' Money Mo' Houses : Mo' Money Mo' Houses

  5. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | My Alternate Life

Leave a Reply

